GMAC Beta – Signup now

Announced today on the YoYo Games glog was the upcoming private beta program for the highly anticipated Mac version of Game Maker.

The testing will start out as a closed private beta that users can signup for by e-mailing applebeta@yoyogames.com with their contact details, GMC and YYG usernames. The beta program is due to begin by the end of next month and it may be some time before a public beta or final version will be out.
The YoYo Games team is currently looking for those who have a Mac running OS X Leopard, Windows only users need not apply. As for hackintoshes and emulators, it couldn’t hurt to try but I doubt there will be any promising results.

Sandy Duncan also commented to say that although the Mac port should run well on UNIX based systems such as those running BSD, there are no current plans to provide support for UNIX or Linux at this time.

15 Responses

  1. Cool, I am glad to hear that they actually got moving.
    my friend will be happy to hear about it too 😉

  2. Finally 😀
    It’s taken them some time – I must admit, even though there was a slight problem with the Mac compiler they where using.

    I hope that they do reconsider a Linux port though – I think that the Linux port would be more useful then Mac OSX, but that’s just my personal opinion.

    -Matt

  3. Can’t wait 🙂
    a mac port will be good though, cause most companies won’t bother to port stuff over to the mac, but with GM, then all you do is click “make mac executable” and that isn’t too much work 🙂 so it shouldn’t be too much trouble.

    maybe they will do linux too, that would be nice 🙂

  4. Depending on if it turns out that way…and I do think that a lot of company’s think that it would be good to port to Mac…Where did you get this from? Or are you just trying to get a high post count? 😛

    Well, I think that the best possible out come is that, you can just click ‘Build Game’ then click on the drop down menu for different file types, the Mac or Windows Version.

    My biggest worry is that Microsoft have said that they are rewriting everything for Windows 7, and that nothing that worked with previous versions of Windows will work for with version.

    Stupid on Microsoft’s behalf, and also very worrying because every company that works on Microsoft products, will now have to rewrite them to be compatible with Windows 7. Well, lets see what the result of that will be I guess.

    -Matt

  5. I doubt Microsoft would do that, as it would mean a lot of companies may just rewrite their software for another platform.

  6. Windows 7 is NOT a completely new version.
    The difference between Windows 7 and Vista is smaller than the difference between Vista and XP. If they can make their XP software run on Vista, then they surely can run their Vista software on 7.

    “Unlike its predecessor, Windows 7 is intended to be an incremental upgrade with the goal of being fully compatible with existing device drivers, applications and hardware.” (Wikipedia)

    Maybe you meant “Midori”, Microsoft managed kernel, rumored to be the Windows replacement?

  7. Cool! Now just a Linux port and I’m happy! 🙂 I saw a bunch of people on you tube responding to games on where to get GM, I replied and some said that they have Mac… So time to reply to them directing them to this post! 🙂 Very informative article!
    -Rock on!

    ~Jax

  8. Windows won’t be replaced anytime soon. It would be more logical that Midori or Singularity will replace the NT architecture.

    This Mac port is great! I really can’t wait. It will mean a lot of things for the Mac operating system, starting with a lot of new indy games!

  9. Finally, I have been waiting so long!

  10. hmmm, Maybe It was that, I don’t really remember, I read it a while ago now.

    I agree with Brian though, Windows won’t be replaced anytime soon, maybe by the ‘nerds’ and ‘geeks’ if someone makes a OS better then Windows and Linux combined – because normal computer users would just stick with Windows.

    But I think that perfect OS would have everything that you need, every Codec code, all of the ‘runners’ like, DirectX and all that built-in.

    But more on topic –
    I think that if YoYo don’t cram heaps of features in to GM8, a lot of people will be angry, because when Mark was making GM, he did it has a hobbie, and he had a job to cattier for as well, but now YYG’s have taken over, and there job is to make GameMaker, not some website, not a Wiki, but GameMaker.
    But I’m not saying that all of these things are bad, I mean, they are great sources for information and a great place with a few thousand GM games.
    And GM8 for Win & GM8 for Mac, should be exactly the same, or that could be bad for the developers, as it would leave them on a downside because of it, not being able to make some effects in GM for PC and being able to have them on MAC – lets just hope that they do it right! 🙂

    But after they have made the MAC & Linux port, GameMaker will be a whole lot more popular. As you’d be able to make it for every Platform! Excluding the consoles of course.

    After that, I think that a port to the DS would be great; as there is a lot of information on the net about it anyway, and it is also apparently rather easy to do it – John Carmack lern’t how to do it in about 4 days! And yeah: I know that he’s a super programmer.

    If they go for other platforms, after the PC’s [Win, Mac, Linux, all that] they really should go into the Consoles. That’s what I believe, but it would be a lot of work!!

    But I am sure people are willing to wait a year to have, for example, PS3 compatible GM games! I’d wait about 3 years even!

    I hope that YoYo get more Programmers on Staff, as they’d be able to have more rapid development, and then they can have different people working on different parts of the development. I read some parts of YYG.com source code, and, there has been a lot of work go into it, I must admit.

    I wonder what Sandy actually does, and how many people there are on staff… Lets see if GMTech asks though question in the interview.

    Sorry about having a really long post everyone, and it did get a bit of topic changing there – but hey, I really enjoyed writing it 😀 .
    Thanks for putting up with me!

    -Matt

  11. I can’t see Yoyo Games ever porting Game Maker to consoles (except perhaps the DS, but that’s still pushing it). The development kits for all the three major consoles are hideously expensive.

    Just a small mistake in the blog post, Mac OS X *is* a UNIX based system along with Linux, BSD, etc.

  12. Yeah, I think that the development kits are way to expensive, I honestly don’t see why they aren’t free, seriously, if it was free, then they’d have heaps of games on there console.

    I think that the DS is probably the easiest to program for out of the consoles. But maybe they could get the development kits for free? I know that the Debug consoles cost a lot though.
    But if YoYo want more developers, consoles is the way to go, with there ever-more growing popularity.

    The 3 OS’s are a good chose still though. [Windows, Mac and Linux]

    I just hope that they do it right. 🙂
    I mean, having your game on all Computer [Not console] platforms, would be really cool – would increase the popularity of any game, as no matter the OS, you’d be able to play one of the versions.

    -Matt

  13. I am playing around with this right now (first beta tester group just got it) and its excellent.

    Also, its open source. Expect a iPhone or Linux app soon.

  14. Even more info after haxxoring some more… the way this is built will allow GM to easily be ported to these systems/os’:
    Linux, Windows, Windows CE, BeOS, MacOS, Mac OS X, FreeBSD, NetBSD, OpenBSD, BSD/OS, Solaris, IRIX, QNX, AmigaOS, Dreamcast, Atari, AIX, OSF/Tru64, RISC OS, SymbianOS, and OS/2

  15. Crap, I’ve been away from GM for some time and missed the invitation.

Leave a Reply

