Looking For Writers

It has come to our attention that the GMNews team is quite under-staffed and unable to maintain this site to the expectation of many of our readers. Therefore we have decided it is in the best interest of the community to seek out some new writers to cover all the latest GMNews headlines and news stories as they happen. This will hopefully both improve and enhance the quality of the GMNews blog over time while keeping readers up to date with the latest GM News from across the net.

This is a volunteer job; however there are certain ’employee benefits’ you may enjoy as a worker of Scorptek. For more information, please contact us.

Recommendations for applicants (guideline only, many of the items listed are not absolutely required):

Game Maker
– Is an experienced Game Maker user with an understanding of the key concepts of GML and other programming languages (not necessary)
– Is a long time member of various Game Maker communities – at the very minimum, the GMC and YoYo Games
– Has contacts or a personal network of Game Maker friends that can provide reliable news and information

Education
– Has a High school Diploma from an English speaking school and/or has obtained an average mark of B- or higher in all classes in the most recent semester/term)
– Obtained a B+ or higher average in either English or English Literature (in the most recent semester/term)
– Obtained a B+ or higher average in one or more of Journalism, Communication Technology, Creative Writing, Media or Multimedia studies (in the most recent semester/term)
– Is an Honour Roll (or equivalent) student and/or has won subject/merit award(s) and/or has received academic distinctions in one or more classes (not required)

Personality
– Enjoys writing and research
– Has enough free time to check for news updates across various websites on a regular basis
– Is opinionated, but able to write without bias if and when necessary or desired
– Enjoys a challenge

If you’re interested, please let us know by emailing jobs[at]scorptek[dot]net with a paragraph about yourself and any of the applicable information above. Thank you for your help in making GMNews the best source of Game Maker news.

14 Responses

  1. hgmm, very interesting… I will have to consider this. vut I don’t qualify, cause I am only on my 3rd week of highschool, and I am a Freshman. (I think thats what it’s called at least.) and I am not sure what ‘Long time member of GMC and Yoyogames’ means, I have been at the GMC scince January 25th and I have been a member of Yoyo for a while, but I just re-registered, cause I wanted a real name, not an e-mail. and esp. an e-mail that kinda leaks personal info…

    I am not sure if I have said this before, but I am Homeschooled, so I can be on the computer at almost any time, and have a LONG list of sites/forums I REGULARLLY check. and so, if you would like, I might be able to be a writer, but I will have to see if my schedule permits…

    -Caniac

  2. I’ll send you an e-mail in a bit ;).

  3. *Sent*

  4. who? me?

  5. ohh, cool icons to the right of the posts!

  6. Your educational criteria for writers is completely unreasonable and unenforceable. Including them is just silly.

    Your point about seeking opinionated but unbiased people is equally silly and by definition, impossible.

    The important thing for opinion and editorial pieces, that go beyond a simple reporting of news is not complete lack of bias. What is important, is not having a strong pre-existing bias, or unreasonable bias.

    One must be able to defend one’s position.

    Unbiased opinion, really isn’t opinion, and makes for boring reading. Unreasonable bias, takes away credibility. The target is somewhere in between.

  7. @NPT

    We want writers who are opinionated, but at the same time can write without obvious bias when reporting news how it is, news. However we also want writers who are capable of writing editorial and opinionated pieces when appropriate. In other words we want people who know what is going on in the game maker world but at the same time can keep their personal thoughts to themselves when necessary.

    Also, the applicant guidelines are just that, guidelines.. They are not requirements. It’s really just to filter out applicants who have no writing experience and/or those who do not use corect grammar/spelling.

    – From my iPhone

  8. “We want writers who are opinionated, but at the same time can write without obvious bias when reporting news how it is, news. However we also want writers who are capable of writing editorial and opinionated pieces when appropriate. In other words we want people who know what is going on in the game maker world but at the same time can keep their personal thoughts to themselves.” — Benjamin

    So in other words, you want what I originally described, and what you didn’t describe.

    In that case, agreed.

  9. I think that the high school thing is unreasonable. I would love to write, but I have not graduated yet. Also, wouldn’t someone that has not graduated, have more time to write news? Like, at least 60% of us here haven’t graduated yet.

    ~Jax

  10. @Jax, you do not need a high school diploma to apply. As stated above, if you have not graduated yet, we recommend that you have a general average of B- or better in (at least most of) your school courses. This however is not a requirement.. as said in the article, these are simply guidelines and nothing is required.

    We have already had people apply who haven’t finished high school yet, and we’re fine with that.

  11. Hmm, interesting! I’ll be sure to apply 🙂

  12. Oh, I didn’t understand. Thanks for clearing that up. If I get some time I might apply, got a busy week ahead of me… 🙂

  13. Cool. I’m now a member of Scorptek and a writer for GMNews…

  14. Hi
    What are the benefits?

Leave a Reply

